The Whitehouse, dubbed by Ned Lutyens as "Baby-lon", was completed in 1933 for Rupert Baring’s two sisters Daphne and Calypso (daughters of Cecil and Maude) and their large families. It was the final Baring-Lutyens architectural addition to the island and Cecil died just one year after its completion. The Whitehouse may only be booked by trusted connections of Lambay or via the Lambay Club. All subject to the approval of Lambay Estate Company.
The house has two symmetrical wings and provides a comfortable selection of 8 luxurious super-king (or twin) bedrooms. Four of these have their own en suite bathrooms, with the other four sharing one wet-room (shower, sink, WC) between two bedrooms. There are two large living/dining rooms - one in each wing with sea or garden views - and a central sitting room with a beautiful original fireplace and open fire. The upstairs rooms are reserved for resident hospitality staff.
The land-side dining room has an upright piano surrounded by bookshelves, while the sea-side boasts stunning views over the ocean. Both have wood-burning stoves, dining and seating areas and each wing also has a private kitchenette and extra W.C.