An island hamlet designed by Ned Lutyens
a 15th Century castle, a stunning guesthouse by the sea, a quaint coastguard cottage,
private indoor event spaces, warm and personal hosting from the island team,
evening drinks, open fires, stunning gardens and views, long walks, hot baths
The White House (1933)
AVAILABLE FOR PRIVATE BOOKINGS, SUBJECT TO APPROVAL,
OR JOIN US FOR ONE OF OUR LAMBAY RETREATS
The White House was completed in 1933 for Rupert Baring’s two sisters Daphne and Calypso (daughters of Cecil and Maude) and their large families. It was the final Baring-Lutyens architectural addition to the island and Cecil died just one year after its completion. Since then, there have been no major architectural changes on the island.
The White House may be booked by private groups subject to the prior approval of Lambay Estate. As a house of historical value, as well as personal importance to the family, it is not well suited as a party venue or for groups with many young children. Capacity is 12-16 guests, the Cottage may be booked for additional guests.
O'Connells Cottage (C18th)
AVAILABLE FOR PRIVATE BOOKINGS ONLY, SUBJECT TO APPROVAL.
O'Connell's Cottage stands adjacent to the White House and forms the end of the row of 18th Century coastguard cottages on Lambay. Made up of two cottages put together, O'Connell's was renovated by Lutyens in the early 20th Century and was home to the island estate manager and his large family. Today his daughter Eithne, who grew up on Lambay, still visits us.
The Cottage is rustic but pleasant and spacious; a typical seaside cottage. It has three bedrooms sharing one large family bathroom, a generous kitchen, dining room and sitting room. There is a little private courtyard at the back and wooden garden furniture available for use. The perfect place for a family or intimate group of friends to get away and enjoy the unspoiled tranquility of the island and its wildlife. Maximum capacity is six guests.
Lambay Castle: Old Fort (C15th) & Lutyens Wing (1910)
LIMITED AVAILABILITY FOR PRIVATE BOOKINGS ONLY, SUBJECT TO APPROVAL.
Lambay Castle is available to hire only a limited number of times per year and as part of a whole island rental. The Old Fort is 15/16th Century and the Lutyens Wing was added in 1910. All furnishing and fittings are original as chosen or designed by Edwin Lutyens himself; the collections and artwork are those collected by Cecil and Maude Baring and added to by their son, Rupert Revelstoke over the decades.
There are nine guest bedrooms - four doubles and five singles - and a self-contained flat within the Lutyens wing with a further two bedrooms, which is reserved for the resident Baring family. Bathrooms are luxurious and beautifully appointed but generally shared between two bedrooms or more. Maximum capacity is 10-12 guests.